Someone Stole My Dinner

Recently on an outing our church visited Sanctuary Ministries and walked the streets of downtown Toronto to see the various ways one church is ministering in the name of Jesus Christ.  As we were debriefing about our experiences the story was told of two homeless teenagers stealing dinner on a sidewalk café.  Two reactions surfaced: anger and sadness.  Anger at the fact that someone’s dinner is stolen and sadness that teenagers have to steal a dinner in order to survive day to day.   

How do I feel about the homeless stealing my food?  How does God feel about the homeless stealing my food?  As I reflect upon my feelings I have to ask myself how I perceive the homeless.  Are they valuable human beings?  Are they the lost that Jesus would have hung out with?  Are they scum that have earned their place on the street?  How I perceive the homeless will determine how I incarnate the gospel of Jesus Christ.   

If one is able to join Sanctuary Ministries and do a street walk one evening to learn and see what it means to minister in the name of Jesus to the poor on the streets of Toronto, I highly recommend it.  But be warned, you might find, just as I found, that we are not doing enough to minister in the name of Jesus, to be the presence, to be the hands and feet of Jesus.   

Sanctuary Ministries: www.sanctuaryministries.on.ca
Sanctuary Ministries Street Walk: www.sanctuaryministries.on.ca/group.html 

Published in: on November 13, 2006 at 2:53 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://incarnate.wordpress.com/2006/11/13/someone-stole-my-dinner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

